Suzuki 800 Intruder Club & Forum
Welcome to suzuki800 Intruder forum

A UK Site Dedicated To The Suzuki C800, VL800, VX800, VZ800, VS800, C50, M50, Intruder / Boulevard / Marauder.

You will need to register before all the area's become visible, before doing so please enter & read the first thread in the Introductory area

It will only take a minute to register & it would be great to have you on board
This is a free to access and use site.

Suzuki 800 Intruder Club & Forum

A UK Site Dedicated To The Suzuki C800, VL800, VX800, M800, VZ800, VS800, C50, M50 Model Intruder / Boulevard / Marauder
 
HomePublicationsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Screen Options or opinions.

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Asmotsat
Member
avatar


PostSubject: Screen Options or opinions.   Tue Jun 17, 2014 2:13 pm

Hi team this is my first (non intro) post to this great site,  so please take it easy on me. :)   
My Boulevard M50 has a cute little chromed plastic fairing over the speedo.  I am an average few inches under 6 foot size guy, but it seems that wind deflects nicely of that little fairing and hits me right on top of the chest and up the neck,  very annoying, especially on the icy mornings.  i find myself sometimes riding with one hand resting one the top of the speedo to deflect the wind just that little bit higher onto my visor.  So i am thinking of fitting a screen.  but just dont know what size to consider.  i can see the benefits of a large one,  but i also love the wind on those warm summer nights.  In Melboure Aus, we have days that vary in in temp days from 5 Deg C to 40 deg C.    I am wondering if there are variable screens or quick release ones,  is there and ideal??  or will I have to live with a compromise??     I would love to hear all sorts of screen experiences or opinions about screens.
Back to top Go down
Lowey
Valued Member
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Screen Options or opinions.   Tue Jun 17, 2014 3:16 pm

A compromise is normally what you will have to settle for, there are very many screen types, shapes and sizes on the market, it is just a matter of choosing one which suits yourself. I personally like a large screen and have had one on all the cruiser's I have owned. I wish you luck with your search.
Back to top Go down
Asmotsat
Member
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Screen Options or opinions.   Tue Jun 17, 2014 3:37 pm

Thanks Lowey,  I am guessing it will probably come down to trial and error.  I am even thinking of having a go at making one.   found a cool site called    "Instructables.com"   it has a project  called     "Motorcycle-Windshield-Curved"    thinking of giving it a go.
Back to top Go down
Lowey
Valued Member
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Screen Options or opinions.   Tue Jun 17, 2014 4:02 pm

Yes that is another option, some members have made homemade hand guards,windscreen lowers and I think someone has made their own screen.
Back to top Go down
Skidalot
Very Valued VIP Member
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Screen Options or opinions.   Tue Jun 17, 2014 4:23 pm

Yorky has made his own screen. Go to "General aftermarkets & modifications (You have done)" and look under the heading "Large home made screen", should give you some ideas maybe.
Back to top Go down
simbo
.. Mechanical Tart .. .. Site Moderator ..
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Screen Options or opinions.   Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:01 pm

National Cycle do some quick release screens of varying heights.
Back to top Go down
alfie92
Very Valued VIP Member
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Screen Options or opinions.   Tue Jun 17, 2014 9:37 pm

Tony with a short screen you can alter it to suit your weather a bit more, if you have a large cruiser style style screen there is it not much to alter,in up and down,or front to back.Obviously a personal thing as you will be riding it but can be expensive trying different types out.The one way you can go is either have one on and then take it off,as Sim has stated National Cycle have quick release,and sizes.Good luck on your quest.
Back to top Go down
Mr Intruder
Suzuki800.com Founder ... & ... Senior Administrator
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Screen Options or opinions.   Tue Jun 17, 2014 9:47 pm

I think Sim's suggestion is spot on for your climate, easy to have on or off fast.
Back to top Go down
icetechaus
Valued Member
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Screen Options or opinions.   Wed Jun 18, 2014 3:45 am

Hi Tony I have the National Cycles Switchblade 2up. Great for riding in winter or rain but is stinking hot in summer. It's a removable screen and there are various sizes available, it all comes down to bucks though.
It made a great bug catcher on the last ride from Brisbane to Melbourne.
http://www.suzuki800.com/t407-brisbane-2009-suzuki-m50
Back to top Go down
Asmotsat
Member
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Screen Options or opinions.   Wed Jun 18, 2014 2:54 pm

thanks guys on some good thoughts there.    I might look at making a few simple ones to get an idea of what size works for me,  then invest some dollars in something that will look a bit more professionally finished.    i do fancy the quick release idea.  but I can too easily imagine returning to my bike one day to discover some low life wanted it more than me and had run off with it.
Back to top Go down
captain crash
Mentally Deficient lunatic ..... & ..... Site Moderator
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Screen Options or opinions.   Wed Jun 18, 2014 2:58 pm

Bloody hell yeah never would of thought of that, maybe fast release with a lock on it but that would make it not so fast release but still a good idea
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Screen Options or opinions.   

Back to top Go down
 
Screen Options or opinions.
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Suzuki 800 Intruder Club & Forum :: The Garage :: Screens, Lowers & Wind deflectors.-
Jump to:  
Slide Show
A random selection of suzuki800.com member bikes.
Latest topics
» Hello from across the pond
by stingray Today at 12:01 pm

» newby
by ardie Yesterday at 10:03 pm

» vs1400 drive mod
by mally Yesterday at 6:21 pm

» VL800 C800 ENGINE
by Wiggo Yesterday at 8:38 am

» VZ800 Compression question
by v-twin Sat Feb 17, 2018 9:05 pm

» Powder coat wheels
by peardrop3 Sat Feb 17, 2018 7:30 pm

» Gaskets thickness ?
by grumpy grandad Wed Feb 14, 2018 5:15 pm

» 2006 TO 2016 ENGINE SWAP
by simbo Tue Feb 13, 2018 8:43 pm

» VS 750 rat bike
by grumpy grandad Tue Feb 13, 2018 5:57 pm

» Hi All
by ardie Tue Feb 13, 2018 4:04 pm

» Hello from US
by ardie Sun Feb 11, 2018 6:58 pm

» newbee
by stingray Sun Feb 11, 2018 3:42 pm

» Hello from New Zealand
by stingray Sun Feb 11, 2018 3:35 pm

» Wider Angle Mirror Upgrade
by bigmal Sat Feb 10, 2018 6:34 pm

» Fitting additional on/off light switch
by v-twin Fri Feb 09, 2018 7:49 am

» vs800 bobber build
by simbo Tue Feb 06, 2018 9:19 pm

» Halogen/LED Headlamp Upgrade?
by simbo Mon Feb 05, 2018 7:56 pm

» exhaust seal
by mally Sat Feb 03, 2018 3:24 pm

» Starter motor switch jammed
by v-twin Fri Feb 02, 2018 8:50 pm

» Battery Replacement Conundrum
by bagtoracer68 Mon Jan 29, 2018 3:18 am

Log in
Username:
Password:
Log in automatically: 
:: I forgot my password