Suzuki 800 Intruder Club & Forum
Welcome to suzuki800 Intruder forum

A UK Site Dedicated To The Suzuki C800, VL800, VX800, VZ800, VS800, C50, M50, Intruder / Boulevard / Marauder.

You will need to register before all the area's become visible, before doing so please enter & read the first thread in the Introductory area

It will only take a minute to register & it would be great to have you on board
This is a free to access and use site.

Suzuki 800 Intruder Club & Forum

A UK Site Dedicated To The Suzuki C800, VL800, VX800, M800, VZ800, VS800, C50, M50 Model Intruder / Boulevard / Marauder
 
HomePublicationsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Screen Options or opinions.

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Asmotsat
Member
avatar


PostSubject: Screen Options or opinions.   Tue Jun 17, 2014 2:13 pm

Hi team this is my first (non intro) post to this great site,  so please take it easy on me. :)   
My Boulevard M50 has a cute little chromed plastic fairing over the speedo.  I am an average few inches under 6 foot size guy, but it seems that wind deflects nicely of that little fairing and hits me right on top of the chest and up the neck,  very annoying, especially on the icy mornings.  i find myself sometimes riding with one hand resting one the top of the speedo to deflect the wind just that little bit higher onto my visor.  So i am thinking of fitting a screen.  but just dont know what size to consider.  i can see the benefits of a large one,  but i also love the wind on those warm summer nights.  In Melboure Aus, we have days that vary in in temp days from 5 Deg C to 40 deg C.    I am wondering if there are variable screens or quick release ones,  is there and ideal??  or will I have to live with a compromise??     I would love to hear all sorts of screen experiences or opinions about screens.
Back to top Go down
Lowey
Valued Member
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Screen Options or opinions.   Tue Jun 17, 2014 3:16 pm

A compromise is normally what you will have to settle for, there are very many screen types, shapes and sizes on the market, it is just a matter of choosing one which suits yourself. I personally like a large screen and have had one on all the cruiser's I have owned. I wish you luck with your search.
Back to top Go down
Asmotsat
Member
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Screen Options or opinions.   Tue Jun 17, 2014 3:37 pm

Thanks Lowey,  I am guessing it will probably come down to trial and error.  I am even thinking of having a go at making one.   found a cool site called    "Instructables.com"   it has a project  called     "Motorcycle-Windshield-Curved"    thinking of giving it a go.
Back to top Go down
Lowey
Valued Member
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Screen Options or opinions.   Tue Jun 17, 2014 4:02 pm

Yes that is another option, some members have made homemade hand guards,windscreen lowers and I think someone has made their own screen.
Back to top Go down
Skidalot
Very Valued VIP Member
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Screen Options or opinions.   Tue Jun 17, 2014 4:23 pm

Yorky has made his own screen. Go to "General aftermarkets & modifications (You have done)" and look under the heading "Large home made screen", should give you some ideas maybe.
Back to top Go down
simbo
* Site Guru *
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Screen Options or opinions.   Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:01 pm

National Cycle do some quick release screens of varying heights.
Back to top Go down
alfie92
Very Valued VIP Member
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Screen Options or opinions.   Tue Jun 17, 2014 9:37 pm

Tony with a short screen you can alter it to suit your weather a bit more, if you have a large cruiser style style screen there is it not much to alter,in up and down,or front to back.Obviously a personal thing as you will be riding it but can be expensive trying different types out.The one way you can go is either have one on and then take it off,as Sim has stated National Cycle have quick release,and sizes.Good luck on your quest.
Back to top Go down
Mr Intruder
Suzuki800.com Founder ... & ... Senior Administrator
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Screen Options or opinions.   Tue Jun 17, 2014 9:47 pm

I think Sim's suggestion is spot on for your climate, easy to have on or off fast.
Back to top Go down
icetechaus
Valued Member
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Screen Options or opinions.   Wed Jun 18, 2014 3:45 am

Hi Tony I have the National Cycles Switchblade 2up. Great for riding in winter or rain but is stinking hot in summer. It's a removable screen and there are various sizes available, it all comes down to bucks though.
It made a great bug catcher on the last ride from Brisbane to Melbourne.
http://www.suzuki800.com/t407-brisbane-2009-suzuki-m50
Back to top Go down
Asmotsat
Member
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Screen Options or opinions.   Wed Jun 18, 2014 2:54 pm

thanks guys on some good thoughts there.    I might look at making a few simple ones to get an idea of what size works for me,  then invest some dollars in something that will look a bit more professionally finished.    i do fancy the quick release idea.  but I can too easily imagine returning to my bike one day to discover some low life wanted it more than me and had run off with it.
Back to top Go down
captain crash
Mentally Deficient lunatic ..... & ..... Site Moderator
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Screen Options or opinions.   Wed Jun 18, 2014 2:58 pm

Bloody hell yeah never would of thought of that, maybe fast release with a lock on it but that would make it not so fast release but still a good idea
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Screen Options or opinions.   

Back to top Go down
 
Screen Options or opinions.
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» how do i change the color of my screen name????
» FJ Firearm Storage Options
» Unpopular Wrestling Opinions
» Leash Attachment Options
» Opinions on Deflate-Gate?

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Suzuki 800 Intruder Club & Forum :: The Garage :: Screens, Lowers & Wind deflectors.-
Jump to:  
Slide Show
A random selection of suzuki800.com member bikes.
Latest topics
» CLUTCH SLIPPING STILL
by OldManYam Yesterday at 6:56 pm

» Engine swap
by Rayzrider Yesterday at 5:38 pm

» Hello from Hong Kong
by OldManYam Tue Jan 15, 2019 9:26 pm

» Re: My first project bike
by Rayzrider Mon Jan 14, 2019 11:42 am

» Suzuki Intruder VL 800 2001 Wiring
by ASantos Sun Jan 13, 2019 1:13 am

» VS800 vs Marauder 800 carbs
by simbo Sat Jan 12, 2019 11:35 pm

» Hello
by Andre van Rooyen Thu Jan 10, 2019 8:05 am

» Miss ing
by peardrop3 Sat Jan 05, 2019 4:30 pm

» new new new
by 2006JD.C50T Fri Jan 04, 2019 8:07 pm

» Greetings
by OldManYam Thu Jan 03, 2019 7:41 pm

» to crankshaft regrind or not
by LazyBones Mon Dec 31, 2018 6:40 pm

» Newby from Norfolk
by ardie Thu Dec 27, 2018 4:42 pm

» con rod problem
by mo800 Tue Dec 25, 2018 8:38 pm

» Hello and happy holidays from florida
by stingray Sat Dec 22, 2018 7:08 pm

» Whats goin on everybody
by ardie Wed Dec 19, 2018 10:33 pm

» Hi fellow riders
by ardie Tue Dec 18, 2018 2:06 am

» Help! 99 Suzuki vz800 making clicking sound!
by abrown Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:52 pm

» Need some technical help with cam timing....
by Jimblud Mon Dec 17, 2018 2:32 am

» Speedometer problem
by peardrop3 Sat Dec 15, 2018 12:13 pm

» Hi fellow riders
by LazyBones Fri Dec 14, 2018 8:44 pm

Log in
Username:
Password:
Log in automatically: 
:: I forgot my password