Suzuki 800 Intruder Club & Forum
Welcome to suzuki800 Intruder forum

A UK Site Dedicated To The Suzuki C800, VL800, VX800, VZ800, VS800, C50, M50, Intruder / Boulevard / Marauder.

You will need to register before all the area's become visible, before doing so please enter & read the first thread in the Introductory area

It will only take a minute to register & it would be great to have you on board
This is a free to access and use site.

Suzuki 800 Intruder Club & Forum

A UK Site Dedicated To The Suzuki C800, VL800, VX800, M800, VZ800, VS800, C50, M50 Model Intruder / Boulevard / Marauder
 
HomePublicationsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 the cankscraft turns only halfway...

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
The author of this message was banned from the forum - See the message
OldManYam
Very Valued VIP Member
avatar


PostSubject: Re: the cankscraft turns only halfway...   Sat Aug 13, 2016 11:22 pm

Possibly a 'Hydraulic lock' in one of engine cylinders ?

Have you removed the spark plugs when attempting to turn the motor over ? (Presume you are turning over by hand/spanner)

How long was the bike 'submerged' in the river ?
Back to top Go down
bigmal
Very Valued VIP Member
avatar


PostSubject: Re: the cankscraft turns only halfway...   Sat Aug 13, 2016 11:59 pm

Sorry I have no suggestions, but I just wanted to say what a great job you are doing cleaning it up!
Back to top Go down
v-twin
Valued VIP Member
avatar


PostSubject: Re: the cankscraft turns only halfway...   Sun Aug 14, 2016 8:06 am

Hydrolock would do it, take the plugs out and see what happens, what about it being the result of a hydrolock due to the water ingress at the point of submersion, it could have caused a bent valve or could one of the valves be 'rusted' fully open, the piston would hit it resulting in the crank not turning any more, as Yam says, depends how long she was submerged for etc.
I think plugs out first and if still happens then head off.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: the cankscraft turns only halfway...   

Back to top Go down
 
the cankscraft turns only halfway...
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» My battery barely turns the starter. Could it be a bad a connection?
» Sometimes car turns over, others it doesn't
» How fast do you make 90* turns?
» Mersey Tigers Basketball Challenge: Halfway line challenge
» Favourite Heel/Face turns.

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Suzuki 800 Intruder Club & Forum :: The Garage :: Engine, Gears & clutch Maintanance-
Jump to:  
Slide Show
A random selection of suzuki800.com member bikes.
Latest topics
» vs800 bobber build
by nicz Thu Dec 14, 2017 7:22 pm

» Hello
by EvoChris Mon Dec 11, 2017 2:58 pm

» VZ800 rear shocks
by Saxon Thu Dec 07, 2017 6:49 am

» Clutch advice
by bigmal Wed Dec 06, 2017 7:26 pm

» Vx800 stator plate sizes and swapping one for another
by mullet Mon Dec 04, 2017 11:12 pm

» Some of my toys....
by ardie Thu Nov 30, 2017 2:25 pm

» Hi All, from Sunny Kent :)
by EvoChris Mon Nov 27, 2017 12:19 pm

» Rear Crash bars
by KeithW Sat Nov 25, 2017 1:42 pm

» 7/8 to 1" switches ?
by grumpy grandad Wed Nov 22, 2017 5:07 pm

» Ola from down south....
by stingray Fri Nov 17, 2017 9:04 pm

» Dual headlights
by Saxon Fri Nov 17, 2017 5:54 pm

» Exhaust and air filter, no tuner...
by Dj_Star Thu Nov 16, 2017 7:08 pm

» Hello from North Herts
by v-twin Wed Nov 15, 2017 6:48 am

» Indicator issues
by G.Terence Fri Nov 10, 2017 2:15 pm

» vs 750 oil leak ?
by grumpy grandad Mon Nov 06, 2017 7:15 pm

» Greetings from the South Coast
by peardrop3 Sun Nov 05, 2017 2:33 pm

» vs750 fuel pump
by grumpy grandad Sat Nov 04, 2017 8:44 pm

» Hello
by bigmal Sat Nov 04, 2017 10:46 am

» C800 from Italy
by Big Al Fri Nov 03, 2017 11:05 pm

» Stoopid, I know, but...
by OldManYam Tue Oct 31, 2017 7:59 pm

Log in
Username:
Password:
Log in automatically: 
:: I forgot my password