Suzuki 800 Intruder Club & Forum
Welcome to suzuki800 Intruder forum

A UK Site Dedicated To The Suzuki C800, VL800, VX800, VZ800, VS800, C50, M50, Intruder / Boulevard / Marauder.

You will need to register before all the area's become visible, before doing so please enter & read the first thread in the Introductory area

It will only take a minute to register & it would be great to have you on board
This is a free to access and use site.
Suzuki 800 Intruder Club & Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Suzuki 800 Intruder Club & Forum

A UK Site Dedicated To The Suzuki C800, VL800, VX800, M800, VZ800, VS800, C50, M50 Model Intruder / Boulevard / Marauder
 
HomeRegisterLog in

 

 RR/Battery second opinion

Go down 
AuthorMessage
v-twin
Very Valued VIP Member
v-twin


RR/Battery second opinion Empty
PostSubject: RR/Battery second opinion   RR/Battery second opinion Icon_minitimeThu Sep 10, 2015 7:52 am

Went to start the VX last night and it was dead so I went out on the GPZ instead. When I got home I put the battery on charge. Just popped out to the garage and it was still dead, so I started it off a car battery. I connected my multi-meter up to the battery and at 4000rpm it was showing 18v affraid

I know what the answer is going to be but I thought I would ask anyway, I am thinking it is new R/R and battery time :(

Back to top Go down
Mr Intruder
Suzuki800.com Founder ... & ... Senior Administrator
Mr Intruder


RR/Battery second opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: RR/Battery second opinion   RR/Battery second opinion Icon_minitimeThu Sep 10, 2015 7:21 pm

It should not go above about 14.4 max when charging. So I reckon your battery has been murdered. RR/Battery second opinion 852880
Back to top Go down
v-twin
Very Valued VIP Member
v-twin


RR/Battery second opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: RR/Battery second opinion   RR/Battery second opinion Icon_minitimeThu Sep 10, 2015 7:34 pm

I have just taken the battery off the bike and it was pretty much dry, for a laugh I put my multi-meter on it and it read 12.62v. Filled it up with de-mineralised water and its bubbling away quiet happily!!

With the battery disconnected and my multimeter on ohms, I connected it to the R/R terminals across the +ve wire and the wire from the ignition, with the ignition off it was open circuit and with it on it was a dead short which it what it should do, I did wonder if the voltage sense wire from the ignition switch was a bit flakey which would cause the R/R to ramp up its output and cook everything, so it looks like the R/R is fubared.

Ebay, here I come......again!!

Edit. I know the R/R on my bike is 6 wire (3-phase stator, +ve. Ground and Voltage sense) but most of the replacement R/R on ebay are 5 wire (3-phase stator, +ve and Ground). I'm thinking that I should just convert it to 5 wire. The R/R on my GPZ is 6wire, the voltage sense wire from the ignition switch had a dodgy connection and it cooked itself because the R/R kept upping the voltage because it was getting a low reading back, so I am thinking its not a good idea or necessary.
Back to top Go down
simbo
* Site Guru *
simbo


RR/Battery second opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: RR/Battery second opinion   RR/Battery second opinion Icon_minitimeThu Sep 10, 2015 9:01 pm

How much do they work out at Andrew?
Back to top Go down
v-twin
Very Valued VIP Member
v-twin


RR/Battery second opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: RR/Battery second opinion   RR/Battery second opinion Icon_minitimeThu Sep 10, 2015 9:41 pm

One from China £20, Second hand £30-£50, Patten £50-£80 and genuine Suzuki over £100. I am considering a 5wire Mosfet R/R but they are about £80 but then again I may just go second hand to keep it original. I can not afford genuine new Suzuki.
Back to top Go down
simbo
* Site Guru *
simbo


RR/Battery second opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: RR/Battery second opinion   RR/Battery second opinion Icon_minitimeThu Sep 10, 2015 9:58 pm

Too risky getting a used one it could be knackered after a few months? got a pattern one on the R6 and it works a treat, half the price of Yamaha's too  Very Happy  Bike manufacturers don't make these parts? they buy them off the people who make them, already rebadged with their logo on it and charge double.
Back to top Go down
v-twin
Very Valued VIP Member
v-twin


RR/Battery second opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: RR/Battery second opinion   RR/Battery second opinion Icon_minitimeThu Sep 10, 2015 10:03 pm

Due the fact that the VX is not that common I am trying to cross reference R/R part numbers to see what else fits, so fat it looks like the VZ800 has the same R/R, but I want to get it right so the GPZ is getting a work out, did 80 miles on her last night.
Back to top Go down
simbo
* Site Guru *
simbo


RR/Battery second opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: RR/Battery second opinion   RR/Battery second opinion Icon_minitimeThu Sep 10, 2015 10:24 pm

Seems to be the same part number for the VZ R/R as the VX, not uncommon to share parts throughout the range.
Back to top Go down
Doc Cox
The Nutty Professor
Doc Cox


RR/Battery second opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: RR/Battery second opinion   RR/Battery second opinion Icon_minitimeSat Sep 12, 2015 8:36 am

When I built my first Virago back in "84"  wheelie No Ebay then, needed a voltage regulator so looked at the part no,s and found the LC 250 had the same part no. but with the prefix "LC" whereas the Virago was XV and bought one secondhand from our local bike breakers and it worked perfectly, shame the guy had removed the cam followers and not told me !!!
Back to top Go down
v-twin
Very Valued VIP Member
v-twin


RR/Battery second opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: RR/Battery second opinion   RR/Battery second opinion Icon_minitimeSat Sep 12, 2015 12:58 pm

She's alive. The battery survived being boiled dry, after topping it up and charging it started first time. I got given a R/R of a Honda 1000, chopped the plugs off and Spliced/Soldered the wires. Job done, I am now in the pub having a pint of XXXB waiting for my dinner :)
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




RR/Battery second opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: RR/Battery second opinion   RR/Battery second opinion Icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
RR/Battery second opinion
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» battery failures
» GP3000 - info on Lucky Lark Battery and Coil
» My battery barely turns the starter. Could it be a bad a connection?
» Litium Ion Battery Packs
» GP3000 & Extreme - Updating the Battery System

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Suzuki 800 Intruder Club & Forum :: The Garage :: Battery-
Jump to:  
Slide Show
A random selection of suzuki800.com member bikes.
Latest topics
» Slammed Volusia - 2" lowering kit - video
RR/Battery second opinion Icon_minitimeby buzz5019 Thu Jul 09, 2020 9:37 pm

» VX800 exhaust advice
RR/Battery second opinion Icon_minitimeby oldmick Thu Jul 09, 2020 8:05 pm

» Hi everyone
RR/Battery second opinion Icon_minitimeby stingray Thu Jul 09, 2020 1:57 pm

» Suzuki C50/C800 valve adjustment procedure tips
RR/Battery second opinion Icon_minitimeby EazyDuz Wed Jul 08, 2020 10:42 pm

» Cooling fan troubles
RR/Battery second opinion Icon_minitimeby Dushmth88 Wed Jul 08, 2020 7:27 pm

» Debaffled and looking for end caps
RR/Battery second opinion Icon_minitimeby rehanpk Tue Jul 07, 2020 7:34 pm

» Tail light fuse blowing
RR/Battery second opinion Icon_minitimeby hmac Tue Jul 07, 2020 1:57 pm

» * Suzuki C800, De-badge *
RR/Battery second opinion Icon_minitimeby Badger Fri Jul 03, 2020 5:19 pm

» Single red and blue wire help
RR/Battery second opinion Icon_minitimeby ardie Tue Jun 30, 2020 5:55 pm

» New old guy
RR/Battery second opinion Icon_minitimeby ardie Tue Jun 30, 2020 5:46 pm

» Hi Suzuki drivers
RR/Battery second opinion Icon_minitimeby ardie Tue Jun 23, 2020 1:01 am

» Hello
RR/Battery second opinion Icon_minitimeby Badger Sun Jun 21, 2020 10:51 am

» Lft side swing arm cover - decoration or functional?
RR/Battery second opinion Icon_minitimeby Badger Sat Jun 20, 2020 12:48 pm

» Advice on carrier needed.
RR/Battery second opinion Icon_minitimeby Holstein Thu Jun 18, 2020 6:50 pm

» Helllo
RR/Battery second opinion Icon_minitimeby Badger Thu Jun 18, 2020 10:52 am

» Bad vibrations
RR/Battery second opinion Icon_minitimeby Badger Tue Jun 16, 2020 1:31 pm

» 50/50 vinegar flush.
RR/Battery second opinion Icon_minitimeby Badger Mon Jun 15, 2020 2:41 pm

» Vz800 speedometer
RR/Battery second opinion Icon_minitimeby Mpiercy94 Sun Jun 14, 2020 11:43 am

» Hello
RR/Battery second opinion Icon_minitimeby Pygsli Sat Jun 13, 2020 7:01 pm

» Front wheel gap?
RR/Battery second opinion Icon_minitimeby ardie Sat Jun 13, 2020 6:34 pm

Log in
Username:
Password:
Log in automatically: 
:: I forgot my password